On May 1, 2012 the Massachusetts Boiler Inspection Law changed. The following are materials that Agency Checklists has gathered from Brownstone Insurance, Hartford Steam Boiler and the Massachusetts Department of Public Safety for agents to become well-versed on what exactly has changed, why it has changed, and where to find help if needed.
As Elizabeth Cincotta, Brownstone’s Director of New Media and Customer Communications explains, “Boiler inspections are an important part of loss prevention and go hand-in-hand with preventative maintenance. Though the inspection procedure has changed, the goal remains the same. A boiler or pressure vessel that passes inspection can be expected to function safely and efficiently, so be sure to have your boiler inspected annually.”
Brownstone Insurance, which has been insuring all types of multi-unit buildings in Massachusetts since 1982, has been on-top of the changes to this law. In addition to blogging about the changes, the company also put out an informative video to explain the ins and out of the changes to the inspection law.
The Department of Public Safety, for its part, published a “Q&A” with respect to the changes which occurred on May 1, 2012. Here is a reprinted version of the information from that website:
Frequently Asked Questions about the New Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspection Certificate Fee
Q. Why is the Department charging a fee to boiler and pressure vessel owners?
A. The fiscal year 2012 state budget gave the Department of Public Safety (DPS) the authority to issue certificates of inspection for pressure vessels and boilers, including the authority to charge a fee to help recover costs. Massachusetts was one of only 3 states that did not issue such certificates.
Q. How much is the new certificate fee?
A. $50.00 per certificate which is payable to the Commonwealth and collected by DPS.
Q. When will the certificate fee go into effect?
A. May 1, 2012
Q. Does the new $50 certificate fee cover the cost of the Inspection?
A. No. DPS will continue to collect a separate fee for an initial inspection.
Note: DPS does not regulate fees that may be charged by Insurance Companies for the annual inspections they conduct.
Q. How will boiler and pressure vessel owners pay the certificate fee?
A. For first inspections, the certificate fee will be paid as part of the application. For annual inspections, DPS will send payment notices after the inspection and owners will send back a remittance form with the $50 payment. Please note that DPS is working to eventually send all payment notices via email. In order to maintain an accurate email database, owners must make sure that a valid email is on file with DPS.
Q. How will boiler and pressure vessel owners receive the inspection certificate?
A. DPS will mail the inspection certificate to the owner of record once the inspection is cleared and the fee has been paid. Please note that DPS is working to eventually send all payment notices and certificates via email. In order to maintain an accurate email database, owners must make sure that a valid email is on file with DPS.
Q. May a boiler or pressure vessel be operated without a valid certificate of inspection?
A. No. The owner of a boiler or pressure vessel shall not operate nor cause to be operated any boiler or pressure vessel until a certificate has been issued and displayed in accordance with state laws and regulations.
Q. Who may I contact with additional questions?
A. Ted Langill at firstname.lastname@example.org or 617-826-5247